Germany, India, Japan and S.Korea Could Join ‘Five Eyes’ Intelligence Sharing Program

  • Our Bureau
  • 04:27 AM, September 2, 2021
  • 7976
Germany, India, Japan and S.Korea Could Join ‘Five Eyes’ Intelligence Sharing Program
Virtual 'Five Eyes' summit held in June 2020.

Four countries – Germany, India, Japan and South Korea – could join a multilateral intelligence network called "Five Eyes” which currently involves U.S., Canada, New Zealand, Australia and Britain.

On Wednesday, the U.S. House of Representatives said it drafted a revision bill to include the countries in the alliance first formed in 1946. The National Defense Authorization bill for fiscal year 2022 drafted by the Subcommittee on Intelligence and Special Operations, has been confirmed to include the revision to that effect.

"The committee directs the Director of National Intelligence, in coordination with the Secretary of Defense, to provide a report to the House Committee on Armed Services, the Senate Committee on Armed Services, and the congressional intelligence committees, not later than May 20, 2022, on current intelligence and resource sharing agreements between the United States and the countries of Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and the United Kingdom; as well as opportunities to expand intelligence sharing with South Korea, Japan, India, and Germany," it says.

The bill reportedly asked the U.S. government to provide a report to Congress by May 20 next year on benefits and risks of expanding Five Eyes.

Also Read

South Korea Approves Military Intelligence Sharing Pact With Japan

November 22, 2016 @ 09:08 AM

US Considers Operationalizing 3-Way Intelligence Sharing With Korea, Japan

November 14, 2015 @ 11:17 AM